Medical & Scientific Committee

Professor Peter Ebeling, Medical Director

Now is an exciting time in osteoporosis management as there have been many advances over the last decade. We can diagnose and treat patients with, or at risk of, osteoporosis to prevent the fractures that may result from this disease and to ensure healthy and active lives.

Our challenge, as medical professionals, is to identify patients at risk of osteoporosis as early as possible to ensure optimal bone health at all stages of life. Many years of bone research successes both here and overseas gives us great confidence in our ability to improve the bone health of all Australians

Dr Michael Ackland
Acting Chief Health Officer, Department of Health. Adjunct Professor, Faculty of Health, Deakin University

A/Professor Belinda Beck 
Associate Professor
Centre for Musculoskeletal Research, Griffith University


Weiwen Chen
Visiting Medical Officer
St Vincent's Hospital Sydney

Dr Peter Del Fante
General Practitioner
Medical Director, Heathfirst Network and GP Partners Australia



Professor Jacqueline Close
Principal Research Fellow, Director Falls and Injury Prevention Group, Neuroscience Research Australia

Professor Mark S Cooper

University of Sydney


Professor Robin Daly
Chair of Exercise and Ageing, Centre for Physical Activity and Nutrition Research (C-PAN), School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences, Faculty of Health, Deakin University

Professor Emma Duncan
Eminent Snr Staff Specialist, Department of Endocrinology and Diabetes, Royal Brisbane & Women's Hospital. Professor of Medicine, University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, Centre for Clinical Research, Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, University of Queensland. President-Elect, ANZMBS


Dr Jane Elliott
Past President Australasian Menopause Society. Clinical Lecturer, Discipline of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, School of Paediatrics and Reproductive Health, The University of Adelaide. GP, North Adelaide Family Practice.

Professor Maria Fiatarone Singh
John Sutton Chair of Exercise and Sport Science Exercise. Professor, Sydney Medical School. 


Davor Saravanja
Spinal Surgeon

A/ Prof Peter Nash

Dept of Medicine University of Queensland


Professor Markus Seibel
President, ANZBMS
Professor of Endocrinology, The University of Sydney. Director, Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism, Concord Repatriation General Hospital. Director, Bone Research Program, ANZAC Research Institute.

Dr Simon Lam
Consultant Rheumatologist and General Physician, Cotham Private Hospital

Professor Charles Inderjeeth
Clinical Professor, University of Western Australia. Consultant Physician - Geriatrician and Rheumatologist.
Director of Clinical Training
Osborne Park Hospital Program

A/Professor Deborah Kerr
School of Public Health, Curtin University


Professor Stephen Lord
Senior Principal Research Fellow, Neuroscience Research Australia

Professor Richard Prince
School of Medicine and Pharmacology, The University of Western Australia


A/Professor Nick Pocock
Senior Staff Specialist, Department of Nuclear Medicine and Bone Densitometry, St Vincent's Hospital

Professor Kerrie Sanders
Professor, Institute for Health and Ageing, Australian Catholic University


Author: Osteoporosis Australia Medical & Scientific Advisory Committee
Last updated: 05/27/2016 - 15:03